Zoomdata Version

Restricting Group Access to Specific Data Source Configurations

As a Zoomdata administrator or a user who has been assigned to a group with group management privileges, you can manually assign one or more data source configurations to a group. Members of the group will only be able to view and interact with charts and dashboards created using the assigned data sources.

In addition, you can manually:

  • Restrict the fields and the data within a data source that group members can use and view in charts and dashboards.
  • Control which data sources can be viewed, edited, and deleted by group members

This manual configuration allows you to set individual permission levels for a data source and gives you great flexibility in controlling data source access.

Multiple groups can have access rights to a data source:

  • There is no limit to the number of groups that can be assigned to a data source.
  • There is no limit to the number of data sources that can be assigned to a group.

To restrict group access to data source configurations:

  1. Log into Zoomdata as a Zoomdata administrator or a user who has been assigned to a group with group management privileges.

    If the user name you log in with is also associated with other Zoomdata accounts, verify that the correct account is selected. See Switching Accounts.
  2. List the group definitions defined for the account. See Listing and Reviewing Group Definitions.

  3. On the left side of the page, select the group definition for which you want to modify data source access. The group definition editor appears on the right side of the page.

  4. Select the Data Sources tab in the group definition editor.

  5. Select Manual Configuration.

  6. Click to add a data source that group members can access. An Add Data Source(s) dialog appears allowing you to select data sources for the group.

  7. Select (check) the data sources to which the group members should have access.  When finished, click Apply.

    The selected data source configurations are shown in a table in the Manual Configuration section of the Data Sources tab.

    To remove a data source configuration from the group list, click the icon in the corresponding table row and then click in the resulting confirmation dialog.

  8. Optionally, in the Group Members Can column, change the member permissions (read, edit, delete) for any listed data sources. By default, group members will have read access to the selected data sources.

    Select (check) To allow group members...
    Delete To delete a specific data source configuration.
    Delete All To delete all data source configurations permitted for the group.
    Edit

    To modify a specific data source configuration. This allows members to:

    • Enable or disable the data source
    • Clear the data source cache
    • Download the data source
    • Change the data source name
    • Add or alter the data store connection used
    • Change the collection and schema in the data source
    • Modify the field labels, types, configurations, distinct count settings, and filter settings
    • Modify the refresh schedule
    • Change the chart settings
    Edit All To modify all data source configurations permitted for the group. This allows members to perform any of the edits listed above (for Edit) to any data source.
    Read Read access to a specific data source configuration. This allows members to use the data source in charts and dashboards.
    Read All Read access to all data source configurations permitted for the group. This allows members to use any data source in charts and dashboards.
  9. Optionally, restrict the fields in a data source that can be used or seen by group members on charts and dashboards. See Restricting Group Access to Specific Fields.

  10. Optionally, restrict the data in a data source that can be seen by group members on charts and dashboards. This is accomplished through the use of forced filters. See Using Forced Filters to Restrict Group Access to Data.

  11. Repeat Steps 6-10 until you have identified all of the data source configurations permitted for the group. They will be listed in the table in the Manual Configuration section of the Data Sources tab.

  12. Click to save the group definition. A save confirmation message displays.

Was this topic helpful?