Zoomdata Version

Supplied User Definitions

Zoomdata supplies two user definitions: supervisor and admin. Use these two users to define other users and Zoomdata accounts and to enable security features and define user groups and privileges. These supplied user definitions cannot be deleted.

After Zoomdata has been installed and deployed in your operating environment, a Zoomdata administrator accesses the application from a WebSocket-supported web browser (see System Requirements for details). When you initially access the product, Zoomdata prompts you to change the passwords for the supervisor and admin users.

The admin User

The supplied admin user is defined as a Zoomdata administrator (in the Administrators group) for the supplied Zoomdata company account. The supplied admin user cannot be deleted.

The first time you log into the Zoomdata UI as the admin user, you are prompted to change the admin user password. Thereafter, you can change the password for the admin user only if you are logged into the Zoomdata UI as an administrator. See Changing Passwords.

Other users can be defined as Zoomdata administrators or can be assigned to groups with some administrator privileges. See Adding User Definitions, About Supplied Group Definitions, and Group Privilege Reference.

The supervisor User

Your Zoomdata installation (whether stand-alone or scale-out) provides one supervisor user. This user definition is permanent and cannot be deleted. However, it can be disabled (see Enabling and Disabling the Supplied Supervisor User).

Other users can be defined as Zoomdata supervisors. See Adding and Removing Supervisors.

Supervisors should be used to make account-level changes to Zoomdata (such as configuring SAML). Limit the availability of this access level to personnel responsible for managing Zoomdata.

Supervisors can:

  • Manage users, their regional definitions, and the accounts to which they are assigned. They cannot assign users to groups. User definitions created by a supervisor are not assigned to any groups, by default.

    When a supervisor creates a new user, the Require password change toggle on the Info tab is always on (set to Yes) and cannot be altered. New users created by a supervisor are required to change their password when they first log into Zoomdata. After the new user is created, supervisors cannot change or reset the user password.

  • Manage Zoomdata accounts, including creating, removing, enabling, and disabling accounts. Except when initially creating an account, supervisors cannot change or assign administrators to the account.
  • Customize the Zoomdata interface
  • Configure security settings
  • Manage connectors
  • Manage Zoomdata licenses

The supplied supervisor user can only be assigned to the Zoomdata superaccount. It cannot be assigned to any other Zoomdata accounts. Supervisor users you create can be assigned to the superaccount as well as other accounts.

The first time you log into the Zoomdata UI as the supplied supervisor user, you are prompted to change the supervisor password. Thereafter, you can change the password for the supervisor user only if you are logged into Zoomdata as the supervisor. See Changing a Supervisor Password.

Was this topic helpful?